Board Book Look (6): Titles from Richard Van Camp, Kass Reich, Jen Sookfong Lee & more!

Hi readers, I feel as though I am forever playing catch up with talking about board books! There have been piles of board books I’ve read and shared with my two little ones, and have compiled a list here of some of the more recent read aloud/shared together favourites and standouts. Full title details and authors/illustrators information are below, but […]

Read More →

Picture Book Review: Goodnight, Anne by Kallie George & Geneviève Godbout

Review: Goodnight, Anne (Inspired by Anne of Green Gables) by Kallie George, illus. Geneviève Godbout Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Tundra Books/Penguin Random House Canada. Thank you! Publication: September 25, 2018 by Tundra Books Book Description: A beautiful bedtime picture book based on the best-selling Anne of Green Gables, introducing the irrepressible and beloved Anne to younger readers. It’s time for […]

Read More →

Review: Here to Stay by Sara Farizan

Review: Here to Stay by Sara Farizan Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Thomas Allen & Son. Thank you! Publication: September 18, 2018 by Algonquin Books Book Description: What happens when a kid who’s flown under the radar for most of high school gets pulled off the bench to make the winning basket in a varsity playoff game? If his name is […]

Read More →

Great Picture Books! (22)

Welcome to another round-up of recently read and recommended picture books! In no particular order, here are the titles: let’s start off with the deliciously screwball- and beautifully illustrated- That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver, illustrated by Sarah Davis, about a class trip to the zoo that goes awry when a hippopotamus goes missing and a classmate who keeps […]

Read More →

Graphic Novel Review: Click by Kayla Miller

Review: Click by Kayla Miller (additional color by Katherine Efird, design by Andrea Miller) Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: January 8, 2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Book Description: For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you click” in middle school. Olive wants to get in on […]

Read More →

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert Source: ARC courtesy of Crooked Lane Books. Thank you! Publication: February 12, 2019 by Crooked Lane Books Book Description: Spring has sprung in quaint Taylorsford, Virginia, and the mayor has revived the town’s long-defunct May Day celebration to boost tourism. As part of the festivities, library […]

Read More →