Recently Read: Great Picture Books

bearateyoursandwich21965059The Bear Ate Your Sandwich by Julia Sarcone-Roach. With vibrant illustrations and a fun-with-a-twist story to boot, this picture book is a real joy. From the opening page the narrator tells us that “It all started with the bear”… And so follows a grand tale about a joyously illustrated bear and how he gets to that sandwich. But just who IS this narrator? And did the bear really eat the sandwich? I love the story and rich illustrations equally and would definitely recommend for a read aloud!

goodnightalready20663085Goodnight Already! by Jory John, illus. Benji Davies. Poor Bear. Poor, exhausted, bleary-eyed Bear. He wants to sleep more than anything in the world but interrupting and impetuous Duck will not let this happen. This type of ‘go to sleep with a twist’ type story has been done before in similar fashion (for example, see Bear Snores On or Spring is Here) but Davies’ marvelously effusive illustrations and John’s quippy dialogue bring the narrative to life and it reads as very fresh- and very funny.

 

adventureswithbarefoot18209535Adventures with Barefoot Critters by Teagan White. This is a beautiful picture book that goes through the seasons following the letters of the alphabet. In a way that reminds me of Lizi Boyd’s notable picture book Flashlight or Julie Morstad’s splendid illustrations for Julia, Child, White’s illustrations are those that you may want to gaze at over (and over) again. So much gorgeous detail, done with such precision- I savoured each page of lovely illustration and serene text. I think Teagan White may be one to watch for the picture book scene.

 

bunnies22236651Bunnies!!! by Kevan Atteberry. I checked this picture book out on a whim- purely based on the colourful and comical cover and was very happily surprised. This is an unassuming story about a dear monster who just wants to play with bunnies (!!!). Of course, his being a monster- not to mention his epic enthusiasm- scare the bunnies away…for a while. What happens when the bunnies finally come face to face with monster? The result may delight! Great for fans of Ethan Long, Mo Willems or Jan Thomas, this tale could make for a wild read aloud at storytime.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Recently Read: Great Picture Books

  1. Pingback: Picture Book Picks: Spring & Other Nice Things | Fab Book Reviews

  2. Pingback: Picture Book Look: Mo and Beau by Vanya Nastanlieva | Fab Book Reviews

  3. Pingback: Best Books of 2015, Part 1: Picture Books, Children’s Fiction & Graphic Novels | Fab Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s