Great Picture Books! (22)

Welcome to another round-up of recently read and recommended picture books! In no particular order, here are the titles: let’s start off with the deliciously screwball- and beautifully illustrated- That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver, illustrated by Sarah Davis, about a class trip to the zoo that goes awry when a hippopotamus goes missing and a classmate who keeps […]

Read More →

Graphic Novel Review: Click by Kayla Miller

Review: Click by Kayla Miller (additional color by Katherine Efird, design by Andrea Miller) Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: January 8, 2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Book Description: For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you click” in middle school. Olive wants to get in on […]

Read More →

Picture Book Reviews: Door & Little Bear’s Big House

Two wonderful picture books courtesy of my friends at Raincoast Books on review today, each dealing with very different sorts of adventures! First I will be talking about Door by JiHyeon Lee, followed by Benjamin Chaud‘s Little Bear’s Big House.   JiHyeon’s debuted with the critically acclaimed and gorgeous wordless picture book Pool; the author and illustrator returns with the […]

Read More →

Great Picture Books! (21)

Welcome to another round-up of recently read and recommended picture books, including two early reader titles! In no particular order, here are the books: let’s start with the whimsical and utterly clever and charming Owls Are Good at Keeping Secrets: An Unusual Alphabet by Sara O’Leary, illustrated by Jacob Grant, a wonderfully inventive alphabet story that had me delighted me […]

Read More →

Picture Book Reviews: Giraffe and Bird Together Again & Our New Kittens

Two picture books on the review list today, courtesy of the lovely folks at Pajama Press!   First up is Rebecca Bender‘s Giraffe and Bird Together Again, starring the popular duo from the award-winning Canadian author-illustrator’s Giraffe and Bird series of titles. In Giraffe and Bird Together Again, Giraffe becomes increasingly worried when Bird doesn’t join him for breakfast or […]

Read More →