Graphic Novel Review: Click by Kayla Miller

Review: Click by Kayla Miller (additional color by Katherine Efird, design by Andrea Miller) Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: January 8, 2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Book Description: For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you click” in middle school. Olive wants to get in on […]

Read More →

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert Source: ARC courtesy of Crooked Lane Books. Thank you! Publication: February 12, 2019 by Crooked Lane Books Book Description: Spring has sprung in quaint Taylorsford, Virginia, and the mayor has revived the town’s long-defunct May Day celebration to boost tourism. As part of the festivities, library […]

Read More →

Review: Clara Voyant by Rachelle Delaney

Review: Clara Voyant by Rachelle Delaney Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Penguin Random House Canada. Thank you! Publication: May 15, 2018 by Puffin Canada/Penguin Random House Canada Book Description: A wannabe journalist and reluctant astrologer turns out to be clairvoyant in this charming middle-grade coming-of-age novel; for fans of Rebecca Stead’s novels. Clara can’t believe her no-nonsense grandmother has just up […]

Read More →

Spotlight & Giveaway featuring THE MORTIFICATION OF FOVEA MUNSON by Mary Winn Heider!

Disney Book Group is partnering with me for a fun giveaway here featuring a fantastically eccentric middle grade read! Read on for my thoughts on Mary Winn Heider’s children’s novel, The Mortification of Fovea Munson, some spooky talk, and all the information you need to enter this perfect-for-Halloween giveaway, open to US residents! The Mortification of Fovea Munson by Mary […]

Read More →

Review: Burning Ridge (Timber Creek K-9 Mystery #4) by Margaret Mizushima

Review: Burning Ridge (A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery #4) by Margaret Mizushima Source: ARC courtesy of Crooked Lane Books. Thank you! Publication: September 11, 2018 by Crooked Lane Books Book Description: Colorado’s Redstone Ridge is a place of extraordinary beauty, but this rugged mountain wilderness harbors a horrifying secret. When a charred body is discovered in a shallow grave on […]

Read More →

Great Children’s Fiction (1): Amal Unbound & Wonderland

I have had a terrific spell of reading standout children’s middle grade fiction over the last few months, and hope to highlight them in series of feature posts! To begin, here are two recommended reads from acclaimed authors: Amal Unbound and Wonderland. Aisha Saeed‘s Amal Unbound*, which has been on the receiving end of tremendous critical praise (starred reviews from […]

Read More →

Spotlight on Forensic Specialist and THE CORONER Author Jennifer Graeser Dornbush!

    Welcome to a spotlight post featuring crime fiction author and forensic specialist Jennifer Graeser Dornbush. Jennifer is a forensic consultant on television shows (like Prison Break, Leverage, and Hawaii Five-0), frequently guest speaks and hosts webinars on topics like death investigation and crime fiction, and has recently had her debut mystery novel, The Coroner, published by Crooked Lane Books! […]

Read More →