Graphic Novel Review: Camp by Kayla Miller

Review: Camp by Kayla Miller Source: ARC courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: April 23, 2019 by HMH Books for Young Readers Book Description: Author-illustrator Kayla Miller is back with Olive in this emotional and honest story about navigating new experiences, learning to step outside one’s comfort zone, and the satisfaction of blazing your own trails. Olive is sure […]

Read More →

Graphic Novel Review: Click by Kayla Miller

Review: Click by Kayla Miller (additional color by Katherine Efird, design by Andrea Miller) Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: January 8, 2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Book Description: For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you click” in middle school. Olive wants to get in on […]

Read More →

Spotlight on ILLUSTORIA Magazine!

Let’s take a dive into ILLUSTORIA magazine! Illustoria is a print magazine for creative kids & their grownups. We celebrate visual storytelling, makers and DIY culture through stories, art, comics, interviews, crafts and activities. Our high-quality, tri-annual publication is geared toward readers ages 6–12 and the young at heart.- via ILLUSTORIA I recently had the great fortune of getting to […]

Read More →

Review: Speak: The Graphic Novel by Laurie Halse Anderson & Emily Carroll

Review: Speak: The Graphic Novel by Laurie Halse Anderson, illustrated by Emily Carroll Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: February 6, 2018 by Farrar Straus & Giroux Book Description: The critically acclaimed, award-winning, modern classic Speak is now a stunning graphic novel. “Speak up for yourself-we want to know what you have to say.” From the first […]

Read More →

Must Read Monday (79): Children’s Titles from Angela Dominguez, Tae Keller, Jarrett Lerner, Dana Simpson & more!

Welcome to another edition of Must Read Monday! This feature is where I spotlight older, recent, or upcoming releases I am looking forward to. The lists will include all genres I like to read, everything from picture books to comics, children’s lit to adult fiction!   This week: children’s fiction, including graphic novels and middle grade fiction! We have the […]

Read More →