Recently Read: Great Picture Books

I must sound like a broken record when I do these picture book posts and say- each time- how amazing the quality of children’s lit is! From picture book biographies of the incredible E.E. Cummings and Henri Matisse, to Kate Beaton’s picture book debut, there is no end to the wonder and richness in children’s lit.

enormoussmallness23129884theiridescencebirds20518799thememorytree18713943

 

 

 

 

Enormous Smallness by Matthew Burgess, illus. Kris Di Giacomo . As I noted on Goodreads, I found this picture book moving and stunning. Burgess and Di Giacomo have shared Cummings’s life with us readers, showcased his profound way with words and made it all sing in one incredible picture book.
The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton. Beaton, the writer/artist behind the hugely popular Hark! A Vagrant, does not disappoint with this immensely entertaining, clever picture book about a strong Princess and her roly poly tooting pony. Any mention of farting usually sets off a young storytime audience, but Beaton’s bold, bouyant illustrations and comic text are the winners here.
The Memory Tree by Britta Teckentrup. A lovely and moving picture book about the death of a beloved fox and how fond memories keep him alive in the hearts of his friends. Beautifully and softly told, with gorgeous illustrations.
Float by Daniel Miyares. Miyares’s wordless picture book is one that tells a beautiful, moving and evocative story all through expressive and dynamic illustrations. Just gorgeous. Fans of Suzy Lee, Molly Idle, Marla Frazee or David Wiesner should definitely check this one out!
The Iridescence of Birds by Patricia MacLachlan, illus. Hadley Hooper. As with Enormous Smallness, The Iridescence of Birds is a biographical picture book. MacLachlan and Hooper have brought the upbringing, inspirations and work of Matisse to life in this wonderful picture book. The artwork here, by Hooper, is amazing and pulls the slightly indefinite narrative together.

float23309640theprincessandthepony23604390

Advertisements

One thought on “Recently Read: Great Picture Books

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2015, Part 1: Picture Books, Children’s Fiction & Graphic Novels | Fab Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s