Skip to content

Great Picture Books! (22)

Welcome to another round-up of recently read and recommended picture books! In no particular order, here are the titles: let’s start off with the deliciously screwball- and beautifully illustrated- That’s Not a Hippopotamus! by Juliette MacIver, illustrated by Sarah Davis, about a class trip to the zoo that goes awry when a hippopotamus goes missing and a classmate who keeps […]

Read More →

Graphic Novel Review: Click by Kayla Miller

Review: Click by Kayla Miller (additional color by Katherine Efird, design by Andrea Miller) Source: Hardcopy courtesy of Raincoast Books. Thank you! Publication: January 8, 2019 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Book Description: For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you click” in middle school. Olive wants to get in on […]

Read More →

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert

Review: Past Due for Murder (A Blue Ridge Library Mystery #3) by Victoria Gilbert Source: ARC courtesy of Crooked Lane Books. Thank you! Publication: February 12, 2019 by Crooked Lane Books Book Description: Spring has sprung in quaint Taylorsford, Virginia, and the mayor has revived the town’s long-defunct May Day celebration to boost tourism. As part of the festivities, library […]

Read More →

Picture Book Reviews: Door & Little Bear’s Big House

Two wonderful picture books courtesy of my friends at Raincoast Books on review today, each dealing with very different sorts of adventures! First I will be talking about Door by JiHyeon Lee, followed by Benjamin Chaud‘s Little Bear’s Big House.   JiHyeon’s debuted with the critically acclaimed and gorgeous wordless picture book Pool; the author and illustrator returns with the […]

Read More →